Skip to content
February 22, 2015 / tyandolivia

Galentine’s Day 2015

I recently watched all the episodes from Parks and Recreation from the beginning in honor of the upcoming series finale. It’s even more amazing when you watch it back-to-back like that. The writing, the characters…I honestly can’t decide which character I like best.

One of my favorite things about Leslie is her dedication to her friends. Each February 13th, this wonderful (fictional) woman hosts a Galentine’s Day brunch for her lady friends. “Just ladies celebrating ladies…breakfast style.”

I love it. Any time women can lift one another up in encouragement and mutual celebration with mimosas is a grand time to me. So this year, I hosted my first Galentine’s Day and it was a hit (if I say so myself). I made a Quiche and provided the coffee and everyone brought a dish to share.

Between work, husbands, kids (not in that order) life can get pretty crazy which is why it is so important to take time away from those things, relax and celebrate one another. Amy Poehler who plays Leslie Knope on Parks and Rec has a website called Amysmartgirls and it has downloadable graphics you can print out and use for your own Galentine’s Day. I also printed out a few Galentine’s and we passed them around and wrote positive and encouraging things about each friend on them. I also created a Galentine’s Day wordsearch…which turned out to be much more difficult than I anticipated. Why would you look for a word backwards, upside down and diagonal?

Anyway, I love my friends. I love breakfast. We will be doing this again.

Galentines DayAlso my Quiche was a hit, so here is the recipe.

Pie crust (this is ridiculously easy, trust me)

Ingredients: 1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/4 cup ice water

2 cups flour

1 tsp salt

Pre-heat to 450 degrees. Add ice water to oil and whisk until it emulsifies (this takes about 5 seconds). Put the flour and salt in a bowl and add the water/oil mixture. Stir until it is a ball of dough. Place dough between two pieces of parchment paper and roll into a circle. This will fit an 8″ pie pan. Bake for 5 min.

Quiche ingredients:

1 pie crust

4 oz deli ham meat (or bacon)

4 oz. can sliced mushrooms (drained) (or 4 fresh mushrooms, sliced and sautéed in butter and olive oil)

10-12 oz cheese (cheddar, swiss, pepper jack)

4 eggs, beaten

1/4 cup milk

salt and pepper to taste

Chop ham into small cubes. Put ham into baked pie shell, then cheese and mushrooms. Beat eggs, milk, salt and pepper and pour over other ingredients. Bake 45 min to 1 hour at 350 degrees.

Leave a Reply

