Skip to content
July 10, 2013 / tyandolivia

Ty’s Italian Flatbread

Dough and I have a bad history. Pie crust dough, biscuit dough, pizza dough, you name it. We have never really gotten along. Well, except cookie dough. But other than that I’ve just never been able to wield the sticky dough into something edible.

Until now.

As a stay at home mom, I am trying to take on the bulk of the cooking and I’m realizing how much my fear of dough is holding me back. So I have decided to give it another try.

The other night, I made Ty’s recipe for flatbread. It was interesting as Ty usually cooks it on the grill and uses a pizza stone. Well, our pizza stone cracked (twice) and so we no longer have one. And I leave the grill to Ty.

So, I baked it. And it worked!

This is the part where everything usually breaks down. I can make the dough, but rolling it into something without it breaking or getting flour all over the entire kitchen is another matter.

dough

As per Ty’s instructions, I cut the dough in half to make two flatbreads. This was surprisingly easy. After baking the bread, I added my toppings. I baked two chicken breasts in balsamic vinegar (for the protein) and shredded one of the chickens for the flatbread leaving the other for Ty to take for lunch. Then I added sliced tomatoes that I marinated in a little balsamic, mozzarella pearls, garlic (of course), artichokes and fresh basil from my garden.

This is what it looked like before I put it back in the oven to meld together. Anyone notice something…off?

Image

Next time, I’ll be adding the basil last. Let’s just say, the basil was…crunchy. Otherwise, a success!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Alex Hull / Jul 13 2013 1:12 pm

    Great looking flat bread.

Leave a Reply

