Skip to content
April 2, 2013 / tyandolivia

Pecan-Crusted Catfish is Perfect Beach Food

I always eat fish when I’m at the beach. It just seems natural. Since I haven’t been to the beach since September (a ridiculously long time when it’s just 45 minutes away) I had to get my fish fix.

My mom has this great recipe for pecan-crusted catfish and she made it while we were there. This is a recipe she gave me when I was in college and it’s so easy I was even able to make it back when my main specialty was bagel bites.

If you’re like me, the easy staples I mastered when I started cooking have fallen a bit by the wayside due to fancy magazine subscriptions, the internet and my in-house chef/husband. I hadn’t made this dish in years, but I was thrilled when my mom said she’d be making it at the beach. It is so flavorful and easy to make. And when you have three kids under the age of three running around, simple is King.

It was so good, I made it Thursday night when Ty came to meet me at the beach. Yes, I ate it two nights in a row. It is perfectly light especially when paired with something like green beans or asparagus. I like to keep meals light when we’re at the beach so I can rock my bikini in confidence (although, since it’s just been three months since I had my son, I wasn’t really that upset that the weather didn’t permit much time in my suit).

Ty and I usually buy frozen fish from Walmart because we’re cheap. My mom picked up this catfish from Publix and I have to say you can really taste the difference. I might continue to use frozen fish for fish tacos or something, but for a meal like this, I’d prefer to pay more for the quality.

Image

1/4 cup breadcrumbs

2 tsp. cajun seasoning

4 catfish filets

1/4 cup chopped pecan pieces

1 tbsp. butter melted

1 lemon

Spray a baking dish with Pam. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Combine breadcrumbs and seasoning in a plastic bag. Add the fish to the bag and shake well. Place the fish skin side down in a baking dish. Press the pecan pieces into the fish. Drizzle the butter and lemon on the fish. Bake uncovered 12-14 min.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. vanessaporter18 / Apr 2 2013 10:23 pm

    Yum!

  2. Alex Hull / Apr 2 2013 11:02 pm

    It sounds really good. In fact I know it is good since your mom is my wife.

Leave a Reply

