Skip to content
April 1, 2013 / tyandolivia

Oysters at the Beach

Well, I got my oysters! As I mentioned last week, my mom, sister and I along with a two-year-old, 10-month-old and my three-month-old ventured out to the beach for a little vacation.

Is it a vacation with all those kids? Sure. Is it the same amount of work as it is at home? Absolutely. But we are creating memories. We are also eating really good food.

The one thing I wanted to eat at the beach was oysters at Down Under which is a restaurant under one of the bridges in Daytona. We go there for lunch at least once every time we go to the beach. The food is good, but I love the atmosphere. It’s right on the Intracoastal Waterway, so we always eat outside right on the water and we’ve even seen dolphins there. Unfortunately, it was freezing and really windy the day we had planned to eat there for lunch. Add three kids having meltdowns in the middle of TJ Maxx and we decided to skip the restaurant.

But I still got my oysters. Ty came to meet me and our son at the beach Thursday and we went out there for lunch on Friday. The weather was perfect, my son didn’t scream and I got to wear a new outfit. Yes, the planets aligned and we had an amazing afternoon.

Image

My raw oysters on the half-shell

I like to eat my oysters raw on a saltine cracker with cocktail sauce and a squirt of lemon. I tried one with horseradish and it was good, but I prefer it without the horseradish.

Image

Yum!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. vanessaporter18 / Apr 2 2013 10:22 pm

    I just wrote an entry last week about oysters! I love them!! I’ve heard people eat them with crackers. I’ve never tried that before,but I guess i should. I just eat them right out of the shell. Lovely photos!

    • tyandolivia / Apr 2 2013 10:52 pm

      Thanks! I’ve heard about eating them right out of the shell but haven’t had the guts to try it that way yet. Maybe next time I’ll try them that way.

Leave a Reply

