Skip to content
March 25, 2013 / tyandolivia

Vacation and Truffle Pasta

That’s right. I’m going on a vacation this week.

Isn’t that obnoxious? Those who are reading this from the discomfort of their cubicle may be thinking “She doesn’t even work! Why does she need a vacation??!”

I can’t blame you. If it makes you feel better, I’m taking my “work” with me. Yes, my three-month-old son is coming along. And he’s starting to teeth. We’ll be joined by my mom, sister and her two daughters ages 2 and 10 months in my parent’s two bedroom condo.

So, it’ll be an adventure. An adventure I’m looking forward to.

Image

Sigh. Ain’t life grand?

Oh, what did I cook this weekend? Hardly anything at all. We had pizza Friday night and Saturday was a long day for Ty ending with him taking a nap from 4 – 8 p.m. Needless to say, I made myself a little pasta with black truffle oil, salt, pepper and parmesan cheese. It was simple and very satisfying. However, I still smell the truffle oil on my fingers despite showering and washing my hands a lot. I woke up Sunday morning asking Ty why our bed smelled like mushrooms. Of course, he had no idea what I was talking about. That stuff is potent!

My inspiration for this simple dish came from one of my favorite scenes from Because I Said So with Diane Keaton and Mandy Moore. The internet has let me down and I can’t find the clip. It’s at the beginning and they are making the same dish in different houses. Simple pasta, parmesan with a glass of red wine. It is a great dish when cooking for one (which is what I was doing since Ty was sleeping). I added the truffle oil because I need a little pizzazz in my food.

Have a great week everyone, I’ll be back here next week. Same bad time, same bad channel.

Leave a Reply

