Skip to content
March 21, 2013 / tyandolivia

Easy Pasta with Sausage and Vegetables

Ty is finally coming around to liking pasta. If he were sitting here now, he would exclaim that he has always liked pasta. However, I, with my uniquely female abilities, have read his mind and ascertained that he does not care for pasta.

Of course, I am wrong. He likes it…but it never occurs to him to make it.

Until two weeks ago. We got back from church and I rustled together my own turkey sandwich while he doodled in the kitchen for awhile only to emerge with a delicious-looking bowl of pasta with vegetables. He casually observed that it was really good.

My recipe repertoire immediate expanded.

Why did I think he didn’t like pasta? Only because whenever I suggested it as an option for dinner, it was rejected. I get where he’s coming from. Ty is pretty healthy – not that pasta is unhealthy – but he prefers to eat meals of primarily protein and vegetables and low on carbs. Remember how I’M the one who thinks to add bread and he never gives it a second thought until it’s on the table?

Well, with Ty’s new-found inclination to pasta, I decided to make some for dinner the other night. Using some sausage we had in the freezer, I sauteed the sausage and then zucchini, yellow squash and grape tomatoes. I think mushrooms would be nice with this meal, but I didn’t have any on-hand. I served it over rigatoni pasta with grated Parmesan cheese. It was a hit.

Sorry for not providing an actual recipe. Being married to Ty has made me much less reliant on recipes and I just kind of throw together an amount that makes sense. Sooo, I didn’t use a recipe. It took hardly any time at all and is very simple to make. I used the whole box of pasta, two zucchini’s, two yellow squash and about three handfuls of grape tomatoes. It was enough for us to eat two nights in a row – I always try to make enough for leftovers!

Image

Yummy vegetables sauteed in olive oil with salt, pepper and minced garlic.

Leave a Reply

