Skip to content
March 18, 2013 / tyandolivia

Tangy Sun-Dried Tomato and Olive Dip

So, we celebrated my mom’s birthday last weekend and as usual, I offered to bring an appetizer for the dinner. We always have appetizers before dinner, but I’ll tell you how amazing that is another time.

My mom gave Ty and I a subscription to Food & Wine last year and I went through it to see if I could find a recipe that she would like. She has the same subscription and I was hoping I’d pick something that she had been meaning to try as a surprise.

I chose the Tangy Sun-Dried Tomato and Olive Dip. She didn’t remember the recipe. Oh well.

I will tell you this now in case you don’t read the rest of it – it was wild. The dip is like a wave of flavors. This is a good dip to make for guests and then see who can identify the ingredients. It is very, very flavorful….it also kind of looks like poop.

There, I said it. I can’t stop thinking it.

Johnny Valiant captured this picture for the magazine:

Image

Photo by Johnny Valiant, Food & Wine February 2013

I captured this picture after making it:

Dip

So, maybe the problem is more my foodography skills rather than the actual dip.

It is supposed to be served with crudités which are just sliced vegetables like carrots, celery, bell peppers, etc. I didn’t have any on hand, so we used broccoli that my mom provided and chips. It was still delicious.

It is not difficult to make, but it’s not like picking up a tub of Sabra hummus from Publix. You basically combine all of the ingredients and blend away. My food processor is in a box somewhere, so I used our magic bullet. I’m sure it’d be easier using a food processor as the directions say.

Dip Bullet

4 ounces sun-dried tomatoes (not oil packed), about 1 1/2 cups
4 ounces pitted kalamata olives
1 tablespoon drained capers
2 garlic cloves, smashed
1 slice of white sandwich bread, torn
1/2 teaspoon crushed red pepper
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
2 tablespoons red wine vinegar
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
Bread sticks and assorted crudités such as fennel wedges, baby carrots, radishes, celery sticks and endive spears, for serving
  1. In a small bowl, soak the tomatoes in hot water until softened, about 20 minutes; drain.
  2. In a food processor, combined the softened tomatoes, olives, capers, garlic, bread, red pepper, balsamic and red wine vinegars and the oregano and puree to a chunky paste. With the machine on, add the oil and process to a fine paste. Add 1/4 cup of warm water and process until slightly creamy. Scrape into a bowl and serve with the crudités.
MAKE AHEAD The dip can be refrigerated for up to 3 days.
Leave a Reply

