Skip to content
March 13, 2013 / tyandolivia

Fancy Fruit and Produce

Ty has introduced me to so many things my mother has been trying to tell me about for years. One of these things is Fancy Fruit and Produce.

No, I don’t mean apples in evening gowns (…what?) but rather the best place for produce in Orlando. Fancy Fruit boasts its ironic name by stocking produce that may not be picture perfect at a highly discounted rate.

Image

Fancy Fruit and Produce on 434 at 17-92

If you live in Orlando and aren’t shopping there, you should be. It all gets cut up and eaten anyway, so what do I care if my green peppers are a little wonky? It just gives them character and gives me the satisfaction of knowing I paid half of the price that I would have if I’d bought it at Publix. Don’t get me wrong, I love Publix as much as the next Floridian. But, I’m also on a major budget.

On Monday I stocked up on my produce for the week, here is the rundown:

Pint of grape tomatoes: $1.29

Iceberg lettuce: $1.29

3 ears of corn: $1

3 yellow squashes: $1.36

1 lb carrots: $.69

2  zucchini squashes: $1.08

3 heads of garlic: $.79

3 sweet potatoes: $.67

1 bunch of kale: $1.69

Total: $9.86

Image

Here are a few of the locations in the Orlando area:

2211 S Goldenrod Rd, Orlando, FL

915 E State Road 434, Longwood, FL

1442 SR 436, Suite 1076Casselberry, FL (this location stocks meat)

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Melisa / Mar 13 2013 2:07 pm

    do you not worry about buying the dirty dozen as organic? That’s me assuming this place has no organic produce.

    • tyandolivia / Mar 13 2013 2:32 pm

      The dirty dozen? No, I’m not as concerned about buying organic at this point.

Leave a Reply

