Skip to content
March 12, 2013 / tyandolivia

Delicious Kale Salad

I mentioned Ty’s kale salad in a previous post including candied walnuts. This is a really great time to tell you that I know what almonds look like, but walnuts and pecans? I’m always mixing them up.  So, it’s actually kale salad with candied pecans.

These are pecans...not walnuts...

These are pecans…not walnuts…

I’ve had this salad on my mind for a couple weeks and then Ty’s mom served it at a recent birthday party. It wasn’t enough. I decided to make the salad just for myself this past Saturday.

I should mention that I’m not a big salad person. Ty thinks to serve salads with dinner and I’m always wondering where the rolls are. Sweet Tomatoes is completely obnoxious to me (until I get to their soup and bread bar). Making a salad doesn’t come very natural to me and when I have just a salad for lunch, I feel cheated. Where was the bread? Where are my carbs? I need chips, people!

But this salad is different. I don’t know if it’s the avocado dressing, the candied pecans or the sense that I am being super healthy (pat on the back for me) but I love, love, love this salad.

To that end, I ate a whole pound of kale on Saturday in one sitting. I think my body is in shock. However, I am an adult. An adult who is nursing a newborn, so I think the days of eating a granola bar or a few saltines while I run out the door are over.

I realized last week as I ate a small bag of honey grams I bought for $1 in the checkout line at Walmart, that I need to make time for a healthy lunch. As I’m not working and only leave the house when it’s absolutely necessary, this also means I need to get creative. I have been better about this over the years. When I lived in Atlanta, my weekly lunches were a rotation of Subway, Atlanta Bread Company, Felini’s and the Atlanta Bread Company. On the weekends, I skipped a lot of lunches or just snagged a smoothie while I was out. I was uninspired by my pantry and – ok, I’ll just say it – lazy.

Now that I am home and can’t justify eating out during lunch (as if I’d even want to get dressed and put my son in the car just for a sandwich) I’m trying to think of delicious, light (gotta lose this baby weight!) meals that I can make and actually look forward to. This kale salad is one salad I crave.

In fact, I bought another bunch of kale just yesterday. I think my body – and my son – will thank me.

Kale salad

Here is Ty’s version of the recipe:

1 bunch of kale

1/2 tomato

1 avocado

1/2 lemon

salt to taste

pecans

1 tbsp brown sugar

1 tsp cinnamon

Mush the avocado up and squeeze in the lemon. Add salt to taste. The dressing should be a bit creamy but not liquidy.

Combine the pecans, cinnamon and brown sugar in a small, cast iron skillet on the stove. Stir until brown sugar is melted and coating the pecans. Remove and chop up as desired (can be served whole as well).

Chop up the tomato. Wash and tear up the kale. Mix together kale, tomato, pecans and dressing. Adjust measurements as desired.

Enjoy!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. kimberly polk / Mar 12 2013 9:06 pm

    This sounds yummy Olivia! You’re writing some great stuff! I enjoy reading about all your wonderful kitchen adventures!

Leave a Reply

