Skip to content
March 8, 2013 / tyandolivia

Easy Blueberry Cobbler

Any recipe beginning with “easy” is my kind of recipe. So much so, that I usually add it in my search terms when looking for something to make online. “Easy beef stew”, “easy coq a vin”, “easy blueberry cobbler”. You get the picture.

I found this recipe on Cooks.com a few years ago and keep coming back to it because Ty loves it, there’s only six ingredients and it is super delicious. I think its simplicity is what makes it the¬†quintessential cobbler, in my opinion. I tried another recipe awhile ago when I couldn’t find this one online (I left out the word “easy” in my search. Silly me.) and it called for milk and a whole bunch of other ingredients. Suffice it to say, it took forever to bake and didn’t taste nearly as good as my “Easy Blueberry Cobbler”.

I had planned to make it on our anniversary, but that didn’t happen.

*Side note: One of the joys of being married to someone who doesn’t have to celebrate things on the actual day means you get to celebrate occasions several times in a week or month. For example, Ty took off work today to spend time together for our anniversary which was Wednesday. We’re also going away at the end of the month for our anniversary. We celebrated Valentine’s Day a week early and then again on the actual day. It’s awesome. I get a twofer or a threefer (threefer?) every time there’s a special occasion.

Anyway, besides the simple ingredients to this recipe, the best part is the crust. You drizzle melted butter on coarse meal before putting it in the oven, so that would probably explain why I like it so much. Last night, I used frozen (thawed) blueberries instead of fresh mainly because fresh blueberries are expensive and I’m cheap. I usually like to make this with a combination of blueberries and blackberries because that’s how my mom made it when we went camping in my youth.

Here is the recipe courtesy of Cooks.com:

EASY BLUEBERRY COBBLER
3 c. fresh blueberries
1 tbsp. lemon juice
1 c. all-purpose flour
1 c. sugar
1 egg, beaten
1/4 c. + 2 tbsp. butter, melted
Place blueberries in a 10″x6″x2″ baking dish, and sprinkle with lemon juice. Combine flour, sugar and egg; stir until mixture resembles coarse meal. Spread over blueberries. Drizzle melted butter over topping. Bake at 375 degrees for 30 minutes. Serve warm. Yield: about 6 servings.NOTE: Any fruit may be substituted for blueberries.

Image

The cobbler was basically devoured before I got a chance to take a picture. And yes, Ty’s shirt says “Love Machine”. He loves this shirt.

Leave a Reply

