Skip to content
February 28, 2013 / tyandolivia

The Best (Frozen) Baguettes Ever

Over the Christmas holiday, my mom made several amazing meals. I know they were delicious, because I remember telling her so and loving every minute that she cooked and I didn’t. (I had my son December 20, hence the no cooking.) However, I can hardly remember what we ate.

I remember the coffee cake my dad and sister made Christmas morning, but mainly because they and my mom spent the morning wondering if the recipe was right. Other than that, the food I remember the most were these delicious baguettes my mom served one night.

They were perfect. Crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside and the most delicious butter vessel. And they are found in the frozen section of your local Publix, Costco and Super Value Stores for those lucky enough to live in the Bahamas. They are called Le Petit Francais. You can also purchase them online if none of those stores are near you. At Publix, they’re about $3.18 for two baguettes and $5.29 for eight rolls. I brought the pack of eight rolls for my book club last night and they were given a thumbs up.

These baguettes are all natural (no preservatives), sugar free, fat free, certified Kosher and made with unbleached, unfortified, French flour.

They are delicious and get my stamp of buttered approval.

Image

As usual, I remembered to photograph the meal after it was almost finished…

Image

Photo courtesy of Le Petit Francais

Side note: If Ty was writing this blog, he would be writing about his own, freshly baked bread which is also delicious. He hasn’t made it in awhile, but perhaps I can figure out how to do it myself.

Other side note: The book club read Confessions of a Wallflower. Overall, we did not enjoy it. One reader liked the book “ok”. I couldn’t get past five percent on my Kindle. The writing was great, but I didn’t enjoy the content. I’m more of a chik lit reader anyway, so take my review with a grain of salt (or pad of butter, whatevs).

Last side note: Next month we are reading I Feel Bad About My Neck by Nora Ephron and I couldn’t me more pumped. She was fabulous.

Leave a Reply

