Skip to content
February 26, 2013 / tyandolivia

Don’t Underestimate the Radish

In the time since my last post, a whole year ago, we have bought a house and had a son. Well, I had our son…Ty helped, but I did most of the heavy lifting. 

Due to severe nausea and an inexplicable aversion to our kitchen, Ty did almost all of the cooking for 2012. I won’t go into all of the vomitous details, but needless to say, I spent a lot of time on the couch watching Netflix, eating bagel bites and counting down the weeks for the baby to be born. Alas, our son was born December 20 and since I am not returning to work (huzzah!) I’ve been making up for lost time in the kitchen. 

One dish I stumbled upon a couple years ago is roasted radishes published in the April 2011 issue of Bon Appetit. Even as I type that date I am horrified at my absence from the blogosphere, but as you all have gotten along without me just fine, I’ll move on. 

The recipe is Roasted Radishes with Brown Butter, Lemon and Radish Tops.  I would like to take this moment to comment on the trend of recipe names basically just being the ingredient list. While helpful for the hurried cook, I long for more creative (and brief) names. 

Anyway, I recently pulled out this recipe at the reminder of a dear friend recently transplanted to the chilly state of Illinois. Ty and I had prepared the meal for her and her husband as part of a Seder meal we created. No, we’re not Jewish, but who cares?

This recipe rocked my world. That may sound like an exaggeration, but it is the recipe that brought me back to the blog so the one person who loyally, optimistically visits this blog can try it out. (By the way, thank you – whoever you are.)

It is quick and an easy recipe to shake up the typical cycle of meals throughout the week. The radishes have a consistency close to a potato once they are roasted. But I think the true hero of this dish is, not surprisingly, the browned butter. This dish proves radishes need not be confined to a colorful garnish on a salad, but rather a showstopping side dish. I served my radishes with my adaptation of Ina Garten’s Roasted Chicken. Coincidentally, radishes are currently in season, so don’t pass them over next time you’re at the store!

Before

Image

After with Ina Garten’s Roast Chicken

Image

 

Leave a Reply

