Skip to content
January 9, 2012 / tyandolivia

Curried Chicken Stew

My mother figured it would be a good idea for me to begin learning about Homes & Gardens after I got engaged, so she has bought me a subscription to Better Homes & Gardens for the past three years. We live in an apartment with barely a front yard, so having a home and a garden are kind of out of the question. Regardless, I do the best with what I’ve got. My MIL (mother-in-law for those who are not on TheKnot.com) also subscribed me to Bon Appetit the same year.

Needless to say, each month a combination of ambition and guilt are mailed right to my front door. For the most part, I completely skip over the Garden section of BHG since we don’t have one and I skip over the restaurant section of Bon Appetit because we don’t eat out very much (with an amazing chef like Ty in your house, you wouldn’t either).

I set aside a time to go through each magazine and use my “like it” “love it” stickers my sister bought me when I was leafing through bridal magazines to tag the recipes that look scrumptious and actually within my abilities to create.

Last week I was quite victorious in the kitchen and actually made a recipe from my BHG magazine. I made the Curried Chicken Stew from the December issue which was perfect for Ty’s palate for asian food and my love of the crock-pot. By using the crock-pot, I get to have champagne and appetizers on our couch while Ty plays a video game instead of worrying over the stove the minute I get home from work. We are the essence of both the 60s and 90s in one living room.

This recipe took me to an Indian grocery store that sold the largest carrots I’ve ever seen in my whole life. There were some there as big as my arm. It was amazing. I bought the most normal looking kind since I was a little wary about any hormones that may have been added to make them so big. I mean really, were they rejects from a Largest Carrot Competition? I think so.

Anyway, I browned the chicken the night before and I need to take a minute to tell you how much I love browning meat. The sizzle. The browness. I can’t get enough. I’m genuinely excited when a dish calls for me to brown something because I know that means it will have an extra crispiness which I love. Also, it’s like cooking, but takes a lot less time. Of course, just browning a meat doesn’t cook it (I know THAT much!) but it looks cooked which makes me happy.

Ok, on to the food. My favorite parts (besides the browning) are the pistachios and the carrots. They were so delicious. I should note here that this is not a particularly low fat meal. I didn’t realize this until I had already made it. I would credit the coconut milk for the 63 grams of fat.

You can check out the actual recipe on the BHG website.

Leave a Reply

