Skip to content
November 1, 2011 / tyandolivia

Stewin’ Up a Batch of Hot, Hot…Chili

Last fall, I bought all the ingredients to make a batch of my mother’s chili for a group of friends who cancelled at the last minute. It was no problem, I saved the ingredients for this fall (I have a strict “no fall foods in the summer” rule).

Since we live in Florida “fall” doesn’t really happen until Halloween or even Thanksgiving. I’ve spent many Christmas’ in shorts. However, this Halloween was truly fall. We are having a cold front. It’s been in the low 80s, so it was the perfect time to break out the chili. My family has had a tradition of having chili on Halloween. I think it must have been an easy meal for my mom to make while we were applying thick makeup, fastening on wigs and fighting over who got to be the princess.

I have carried on this tradition into my own family and am loving it. Yesterday, I used my crock pot to make it for the first time. The recipe only calls for 20 to 30 minutes of cooking time, so I’ve never been inclined to use the crock pot for chili before. However, we were having friends over and I was in charge of turning Ty into a skeleton which called for about 30 minutes devoted to applying his makeup leaving me almost no time to get my own costume together (Holly Golightly for those who care).

I have discovered that my mom’s secret recipe is available on the McCormick’s website. It’s delicious. I doubled the recipe, added about three shots of Jack Daniel’s and then let it cook in the crock pot for about three hours while I was at work. We had two couples over and served it with shredded cheese, greek yogurt and chips. Delish!

Leave a Reply

