Skip to content
July 29, 2010 / tyandolivia

Video Food

Claire O’Neill with NPR recently reported on creative videos being the future of food magazines. This interested me because if anyone else remembers as I do, Gourmet Magazine went under last year. (Ty and I are now hording our mothers’ stolen magazines in a secret pile next to the couch for future cooking and historical reference.)

I work in public relations, so the death of a magazine is a true tragedy to me. I know the industry is moving toward the digital age (I mean hello? I’m blogging) but any PR practitioner knows that something published in print lives on much longer than anything on-air or online. Hence the pile of magazines I’ll try to never throw away.

But I digress. O’Neill posted a video produced by photographer William Hereford who has integrated a magazine-type layout into a video format. As a past yearbook editor, I can see how one may think this may be the future of food magazines.

However, I have to agree with O’Neill that anyone actually cooking from a recipe distributed in this format will find it frustrating to have to pause and play between steps. I have to read a recipe about eight times to make sure I’ve actually done everything right even when I’ve made the dish before! I’d rather hold a recipe in my hand than watch it online. That’s not to say I don’t get most of my recipes online.

In fact, not long ago I discovered that my mom and I found the same recipe from the same source through a different venue. Translation: I found Gourmet Magazine’s Poulet Provencal on Epicurious.com and she found it in their published magazine. We both made it at different times and then recommended it to each other. I say this to say that a magazine should be both in print and online. Maybe I’m asking too much, but if it was my way I’d have it both ways.

On the other hand, I must say that I truly appreciate the artistic quality in Hereford’s work and am truly impressed by the creative camera focuses throughout the video.

And anything set to French music makes it even better.

What do you think? Would you cook from a recipe in this format?

Leave a Reply

