Skip to content
May 18, 2010 / tyandolivia

Pasta al Limone

Olivia: I am in love with Italy. To say it is beautiful is not enough. The nature, the architecture…the food. I am currently reading Francis Mayes’ Bella Tuscany which is the sequel to Under the Tuscan Sun. It has helped calm me during the move and the anxiety that comes with that.

She includes a few recipes in her novel and tonight I cooked Pasta al Limone. It is incredibly simple and surprisingly light considering it’s pasta.

For a long time I thought Ty didn’t like pasta. He’s incredibly healthy. When we first started dating he joked that he wanted to live until he was 100 years old. I believe he will. The man is the epitome of health. He eats vegetables for lunch! He runs marathons, does strength training, etc. But I digress.

Ty: I like pasta…I never said I didn’t like pasta…I don’t know where you got this from.

Olivia: So, he likes this pasta and we were finished eating by 7:42 p.m. which is a huge feat for me.

Here it is: boil spaghetti (I used linguini since that’s what we had) and squeeze the juice of about 2 lemons. Chop up about 1/4 parsley and grate some parmigiano. I also grated the rind of the lemons for extra flavor. Giada insists that lemon zest adds something special and I think she’s right.

You can also sautee 1/2 lb. of crabmeat (imitation is fine) in olive oil or butter (I did both. Olive oil for my heart, butter for my tongue) and add a swig of white wine. Let it all boil down and add to the pasta with the lemon juice, parsley and parmigiano.

So. Much. FLAVOR!

I also made a salad. You know. For the iron. Ty had made the dressing the other day from scratch and it’s delish. Maybe he can tell you about it another time.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shannen Malutinok / May 18 2010 1:03 pm

    This looks so good! Magazine worthy. I love the wine!

  2. tyandolivia / May 18 2010 1:39 pm

    Thanks! I got the wine at a BOGO (love BOGO!) and naturally I thought of you. I thought you’d appreciate that 🙂

Leave a Reply

