Skip to content
April 22, 2010 / tyandolivia

Good Manners

Forbidden fruitWhen you meet someone new, it’s polite to introduce yourself. (Ty: Also, to curtsy) So here we go.

We got married March 6, 2010. Ty started cooking when he was six years old (just the basics, frying eggs, that sort of thing) and Olivia started cooking in the fifth grade (just the basics, scrambling eggs, that’s it)

Olivia: I think that may have been the last thing I made before college when I embraced bagel bites. My R.A. called me “bagel-bite girl”. Ok, not really but it felt that way.

Ty: That’s probably an exaggeration, you cooked…right?

Olivia: mmmhhhmmm…anyway, Ty began cooking more in college…when he couldn’t afford to eat out.

Ty: Well, I could afford to eat out. But see, I budgeted $5 a day for food but most of the time I went to the grocery store and tried to find something I could make for $5 at home.

Olivia: And thank God, because let me tell you, his cooking is to die for! This actually became a point of contention for me before we were married. Believe it or not, I actually felt threatened. I know. I’m an idiot. But before you throw stones, understand that it’s been 46 days and I have totally embrace the “cooking husband”. Nevertheless, I still want to cook.

Ty: Ha, you embraced me.

Olivia: We try to cook about 50/50. Last week it was more of a 20/80 deal with me pulling in 20 (of that 20, one night was leftovers. Does that count?)

Ty: I made the leftovers…

Olivia: So if you feel like tagging along with a newlywed couple learning to cook and be married,

Ty: I already know how to cook.

Olivia: AND heat things up (ok, maybe you can’t come along for that part)

Ty: I don’t understand that innuendo…are you really going to write down everything I say?

Olivia: Yes, if you weren’t so funny, I wouldn’t write it down. Anyway, we hope you tag along.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Jackie / May 4 2010 12:49 pm

    This is the beginning of something great. Oh how I wish I were an editor/publisher.

  2. Blue / May 19 2010 12:20 pm

    Great blog. I see a movie coming.

Leave a Reply

